Categories » Special Offer

V/A - "John Barleycorn Reborn"

Cold Spring Records 2 x CD 2007 8.96euro
8.96euro » BUY NOW «

A discovery of folk music from dark Britannica. 'John Barleycorn Reborn' explores seasonal birth, death and rebirth on this double CD. Our cycle begins at Lammas 2007 (1st August), a day traditionally known for 'the first fruits of the harvest'. Pre-orders will therefore begin on this day. All orders also receive a free complementary thirty-three track download only set of further music.

This compilation explores the darker side of British folk music, evoking the mystery of our ancient past and peoples, the strangeness of their beliefs, arcane traditions and the remnants of this carried down the centuries as folklore. The set has an extended booklet with articles, essays and explorations of the album's concept.

The album is a collaboration between Cold Spring and Woven Wheat Whispers, a folk music artist community and legal download service (where the third part complementary part will be available). Curated by Mark Coyle.

Visit the John Barleycorn Reborn website

Visit the John Barleycorn Reborn MySpace

Track Listing:

Disc 1

1. The Horses Of The Gods - 'John Barleycorn'
2. The Owl Service - 'North Country Maid'
3. The Story - 'The Wicker Man' [MP3]
4. Damh The Bard - 'Spirit Of Albion'
5. Mary Jane - 'Twa Corbies'
6. Andrew King - 'Dives And Lazarus'
7. The Triple Tree - 'Three Crowns'
8. Sol Invictus - 'To Kill All Kings'
9. Sieben - 'Ogham On The Hill (Remix)'
10. Sharron Kraus - 'Horn Dance'
11. Charlotte Greig And Johan Asherton - 'Lay The Bent To The Bonny Broom'
12. Pumajaw - 'The Burning Of Auchindoun'
13. Peter Ulrich - 'The Scryer & The Shewstone [MP3]
14. Alphane Moon - 'Where The Hazel Grows'
15. English Heretic - 'Hippomania'
16. Far Black Furlong - 'Icy Solstice Eye'

Disc 2

1. The Anvil - 'John Barleycorn Must Die'
2. Tinkerscuss - 'To Make You Stay'
3. The Straw Bear Band - 'Trial By Bread & Butter'
4. Electronic Voice Phenomena - 'The Sorrow Of Rimmon'
5. The Purple Minds Of Lazeron - 'Dragonfly'
6. Sand Snowman - 'Stained Glass Morning'
7. The A Lords - 'Summerhouse'
8. The Kitchen Cynics - 'The Guidman's Ground'
9. Quickthorn - 'PewPew'
10. Clive Powell - 'Reed Sodger' [MP3]
11. Venereum Arvum - 'Child 102 Willie And Earl Richard's Daughter'
12. Drohne - 'Nottamun Town'
13. Stormcrow - 'Gargoyle'
14. Doug Peters - 'Pact'
15. While Angels Watch - 'Obsidian Blade'
16. Xenis Emputae Travelling Band - 'John Barleycorn: His Life, Death And Resurrection'
17. Martyn Bates - 'The Resurrection Apprentice'

bands: Various Artist
label: Cold Spring Records
medium: CD
Other customers also bought
WERKRAUM - "Kristalle" Ahnstern digipack CD
Fragment. ‎– Home OPN Records CD lim. 500
Fragment. ‎– Temporary Enlightenment OPN Records CD
VON THRONSTAHL ‎– "Corona Imperialis" TRUTZBURG-THULE ‎(with patch / poster / postcard CD Digi / exclusive 2CD / lim.500)

Wszelkie prawa zastrzeżone - 2006 - Waroffice - Nota prawna